Jacquin Trio

Jessie Grimes clarinet/bass clarinet
Kay Stephen viola/violin
Charis Hanning piano

Thursday 02 April, 2020 at 01:10 pm

Mozart Kegelstatt Trio K.498
Bruch 8 Stücke Op.83 (Selection)
Stravinsky The Soldier’s Tale Suite (with narration)

You may remember Kay Stephen following her performance with the Gildas Quartet, who made a great impression with clarinettist Jack McNeill last season. She shares the stage now with a clarinettist and pianist as member of the audacious Jacquin Trio.

A glance at their website will show you how lively, enterprising and versatile this trio is; they are always looking for new ways to engage their audiences.

Mozart’s Kegelstatt Trio is one of his sublime, mature compositions, and the Bruch pieces are lushly romantic (other memorable Bruch works include Kol Nidrei and Scottish Fantasy).

The highlight will no doubt be the trio’s narrated version of The Soldier’s Tale, in which the devil definitely has the best tunes.

© The Manchester Mid-day Concerts Society
Registered charity No. 224723.

Director of Concerts: Simon Parkin
Administrator: Clare Preston-Pollitt