RNCM Brass Band

David Thornton – Conductor

Established during the 1990s by brass innovator Howard Snell, the RNCM Brass Band has always been a flagship ensemble of the institution. Geographically the RNCM is ideally placed for brass band students and it boasts a teaching staff that includes David Thornton as Director of Brass Bands and the RNCM International Brass Band Festival, Roger Webster, Richard Marshall, Owen Farr, Katy Jones, Carol Jarvis, Leslie Neish, and Steven Mead. In 2014 the college appointed Prof. James Gourlay and Prof. David King as International Chairs in Brass Band Studies and they both work with the band students on a bi-annual basis. Other recent guest conductors include Nicholas Childs, Florent Didier, Russell Gray, Garry Cutt and Elgar Howarth.
The teaching staff encourages students to become members of bands outside of the college and the RNCM benefits greatly from partnerships with some of the UK’s leading brass bands. The current RNCM Brass Band has members of Black Dyke, Grimethorpe, Brighouse & Rastrick and the Fairey Bands within its ranks, as well as a good international representation from countries including Switzerland, Latvia, Japan, Hong Kong and Australia.

Mario Burki – Flight
John McCabe – Desert II (Horizon)
Ray Steadman-Allen – Seascapes

Sponsored by The Ida Carroll Trust

March 27, 2025

Box Office

Tickets can be purchased in advance and on the day of the concert from the Bridgewater Hall Box Office:

Tel: 0161 907 9000

The Bridgewater Hall
M2 3WS

Open Monday – Saturday, 10am – 6pm (8pm on concert nights) and Sunday (concert nights only) 12 noon – 6pm