Kana Ohashi (violin); Benjamin Powell (piano)

Thursday 25 January, 2018 at 01:10 pm

Ysaye Sonata No.4 for Solo Violin
Szymanowski Mythes Op.30, La Fontaine d'Arethuse 
Prokofiev Sonata No.2 in D major
Shchedrin Imitating Albeniz

Australian-Japanese violinist Kana Ohashi is partnered by prizewinning Psappha pianist Benjamin Powell.

The Prokofiev Sonata betrays its origin as a flute sonata with gorgeous long and delicate melodies.  Ysaÿe's Sonata No.4 for Solo Violin presents incredible technical challenges for the soloist, and Shchedrin's colourful Imitating Albeniz will bring the performance to an exciting close.

© The Manchester Mid-day Concerts Society
Registered charity No. 224723.

Director of Concerts: Simon Parkin
Administrator: Clare Preston-Pollitt